Debate…

Yup! These are the debates in the past four weeks!

Soooo… For the past 4 weeks, I was in this club called Debate hosted on Fridays. The first debate we lost. We were debating on whether the school should start earlier or later. Honestly, I feel like starting at 8:15 is more than enough anytime earlier… Let’s just say it will not turn out well. So, anyway if you do not know the rules of a debate or you do not understand how those politicians debates let me explain. First off if you say the President vs the Vice President I understand you would not understand. If you watched that it explained how two five-year-old brothers fight for a new toy. Anyway… Each team gets three arguments to state. The first argument is supposed to spill everything on the table so you get 1 minute and thirty seconds. The second argument is supposed to build off the main idea and you get 1 minute to do that. Then the third argument is building off a smaller idea and you only get 30 seconds. Now each time after the opposing team says an argument there is one person on your team who states what people call the rebuttal or the counter statement or argument. They need to give reasons to counter the other team’s argument. Example in case your brain is about to explode. Argument: Chocolate gives everyone a fun and sweet time to relish. Rebuttal: Chocolate is proven to give you severe problems. Something like that. You have thirty seconds to state each rebuttal. So now you know the rules. So I was supposed to do the second argument and the person who did the first argument took all my facts! Or all the facts. So, if you were in a debate at that time you could probably tell that I had to make something up on the spot which is a lot harder than you think. So we lost the first one. In the second debate, I got to judge the debate which was really fun. The topic was is social media good or bad for you? So the Social media is bad for you won, mainly because on the pro side the first person took only 15 seconds to spill all the facts. You usually want to have more than enough facts and that person only took fifteen seconds. So that was the main reason they lost. The third debate was by far my favorite. School in person vs virtual. So, I am a hybrid and I have gotten a feel for both. Personally, I feel that I like in person better than online. So, the other team had no rebuttals to counter our arguments when we did counter all their arguments so yay! We won! Last week’s debate was Star Wars vs Star Trek. I was on Star Trek and Star Trek won. We put in 8 ideas that Star Wars had copied and I guess I felt that was the strongest part because other than that and racial and gender equality Star Wars probably had better arguments. Alright you enjoyed this I hope and see you in the next post if you read it!

-Nishant

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *